A Championship Semi-Final details




O'Neill 23

Belhout 26 pen, 71 pen

Lyons 93+

Last s/o 70

A Championship Semi-Final

Carlisle Grounds
21 August 2011

McGinley rushes out to deny O'Neill
pic Michael Tierney

The high-flying Bray A-team were brought to earth in the Semi-Final of the A Championship when old rivals UCD defeated them in the Carlisle Grounds.

A disappointingly small crowd was present to see the match, which promised much but produced little for the home fans in the end.

Bray were ahead in the 23rd minute when Shane O'Neill converted a Dan McGuinness cross, but matters were levelled three minutes later as Samir Belhout made no mistake with a penalty after being brought down in the area himself.

Bray had several chances after that before a clumsy intervention on the same striker by Stephen Last brought the red card out of referee Rhona Daly's pocket, and Belhout once again sent Brian Kane the wrong way.

The home side battled on, playing some of their best football of the encounter at times, and substitute Kevin Knight threatened Mark McGinley's goal with raking runs up the right and later the left.

But Students' sub Chris Lyons had the last word, firing unmarked strongly past Kane after the ball had been well-worked out and back from a long-range Robbie Benson free.

Mícheál Ó hUanacháin

Bray Wanderers: 1 Brian Kane; 2 Guy King-Hall, 4 David Webster, 5 Stephen Last, 3 Conor Butler; 7 John Mulroy, 6 Colm Tresson (c), 8 Graham Kelly, 11 Conor Earley; 10 Shane O'Neill, 9 Daniel McGuinness
Subs: 12 Seán Plunkett, 14 Ryan Coombes (for Earley 80), 15 Gerald Pender, 16 Gary Shaw (for Mulroy 80), 17 Kevin Knight (for McGuinness 67), 25 Lee Brandon (gk)
UCD: 1 Mark McGinley; 2 Mark Langtry, 4 James Kavanagh, 5 Tomas Boyle, 3 Sean Russell; 7 Stephen Doyle, 8 Hugh Douglas, 6 Barry McCabe (c), 11 Tyrone McNelis; 10 Robbie Benson; 9 Samir Belhout
Subs: 12 Robert Keogh, 14 Danny Fallon, 15 Dean Clarke, 16 Luke Fitzgibbon (for Doyle 85), 17 Edwin Roche, 18 Chris Lyons (for Belhout 85), 20 John Kelly (gk)
Referee: Rhona Daly

Back to the topContact us