Darragh Lynch 19, 64

Rob Manley 73

First Division

Carlisle Grounds
27 May 2022

A much better outcome all round for the Seagulls, who were dominant throughout in most areas of the park, but were blessed with some of their scores.

Darragh Lynch opened the scoring, lurking unmarked for a Paul Fox corner which was turned out to him by Ben Feeney and duly buried past Mark Smith in the Athlone goal.

Midway through the second half, Lynch struck again - or perhaps that should be patted, because after good play by Kieran "Marty" Waters and Fox put him in between defenders, he poked a weak shot that Smith ought really to have had no trouble dealing with, but to most viewers' surprise the ball trickled over the line. They all count.

Substitutes were responsible for the final strike, when Darragh Levingston reached a cross he shouldn't have been able to, slipped a tackle way out wide and fired a hopeful ball into the six-yard area where fellow sub Rob Manley had only to meet the ball with his head to turn it between the posts.

Despite the apparent ease of their victory, Bray still had errors, stray passes and overhit forward balls, while Athlone, apart from a few good passing moves (and one spectacular save) were hardly stern opposition.

Full report to follow

Bray Wanderers: 25 Michael Kelly; 15 Eoin Massey, 12 Jack Hudson, 3 Kevin Knight, 23 Conor McManus; 16 Callum Thompson, 26 Ben Feeney, 27 Dean Zambra (c), 11 Paul Fox; 10 Kieran Waters; 24 Darragh Lynch
Subs: 1 Stephen McGuinness (gk), 7 Keith Dalton (for Thompson 88), 8 Kurtis Byrne, 9 Rob Manley (for Lynch 67 inj) , 14 Jamie Callaghan, 18 Zak O'Neill, 21 Conor Knight (for Waters 88), 28 Darragh Levingston (for Feeney H/T), 31 Enda Douglas
Athlone Town: 1 Mark Smith; 23 Donal Curtin, 2 Daniel Dobbin , 4 Noah van Geenen , 3 Derek Daly; 11 Thomas Oluwa, 18 Oisín Duffy, 12 Aaron Connolly, 31 Carlton Ubaezuonu; 10 Glen McAuley, 9 Shane Barnes (c)
Subs: 6 Blake Ryan, 8 Quincy Nkansah, 14 Success Edogun (for McAuley 74), 17 Israel Kimazo, 19 Osaze Irhue (for Daly 69 inj), 20 Gary Armstrong, 22 Youri Habing (for Oluwa 74), 27 Matthew McCarrick, 30 Andrew Skerritt (gk)
Referee: Jamie Robinson (NIR)

Back to the topContact us