Seán McEvoy 46, 63

Gary Shaw 69

First Division

Carlisle Grounds
18 Sep 2020

Bray Wanderers produced their best performance of the season with this comprehensive victory over promotion rivals Longford Town. In doing so, Wanderers extended their current unbeaten league run to seven games and current unbeaten home league run to 12 games. This victory was Wanderers fourth consecutive league victory. It was also the first time in the club’s League of Ireland history that the team scored three goals in four consecutive games.

Wanderers made one change to the starting team from last Friday’s win over Wexford FC. Jack Watson came into midfield to replace Derek Daly.

Bray started on top and Gary Shaw went close after just six minutes when he beat ex-Wanderers keeper Lee Steacy to a cross, but headed just wide. Ryan Graydon crashed a shot off the Longford crossbar and then headed just wide on 10 minutes. Aaron Barry saw his header cleared off the line following a Dylan Barnett corner on 19 minutes. Luka Lovic then fired a long-range effort which Steacy gathered at the second attempt.

Wanderers kept pressing and Barnett fired a long-range effort over the crossbar on 35 minutes. A scramble in the Longford box on 38 minutes saw a chance for Lovic but the ball would not drop for him to get a clear shot in and Gary Shaw eventually saw his shot blocked at close range.

Five minutes before the break, Aaron Barry headed a cross from Wilson back across the area where Shaw headed over from close range.

Wanderers took the lead a minute into the second half. Lovic’s cross from the right picked out Sean McEvoy who turned and slotted home from inside the box. Bray doubled their lead on 63 minutes when Graydon’s through ball picked out McEvoy and he slotted under the advancing Steacy. Wanderers sealed the win on 69 minutes when Shaw headed home from a Barnett corner on the right.

Michael Duffy

Bray Wanderers: 25 Brian Maher; 2 John Ross Wilson, 3 Dylan Barnett , 4 Killian Cantwell, 5 Aaron Barry (c), 7 Ryan Graydon, 8 Callum Thompson, 10 Gary Shaw , 12 Jack Watson , 17 Luka Lovic , 18 Seán McEvoy
Subs: 1 Adam Hayden (gk), 6 Paul Keegan (for McEvoy 85), 9 Joe Doyle (for Watson 66), 11 Derek Daly (for Thompson 78), 14 Tristan Noack-Hofmann (for Barnett 85), 17 Darragh Lynch (for Shaw 78) , 27 Marlon Marishta
Longford Town: 1 Lee Steacy; 2 Shane Elworthy, 5 Michael McDonnell, 6 Dean Zambra (c), 7 Dylan Grimes, 8 Robert Manley, 11 Adam Evans, 16 Aodh Dervin , 20 Dean Byrne, 22 Joe Manley, 32 Joe Gorman
Subs: 4 Dylan Hand, 10 Sam Verdon, 15 Aaron McCabe, 17 Matthew O’Brien (for Grimes 17), 18 Luke Dennison (gk), 19 Karl Chambers (for Zambra H/T), 21 Aaron McNally
Referee: Alan Carey

Back to the topContact us