Aaron Greene 28

Joe Doyle 20, 51 pen

Trevor Clarke 40

Philip Gannon 85 pen

Alan Mannus s/pen 46


Roundstone SC
19 Jan 2019

Wanderers got their pre-season fixtures off to a winning start with this lively game. On the quarter hour Dylan Barnett’s cross from the left was headed just over by Joe Doyle.

Wanderers took the lead on 20 minutes when Doyle scored from just outside the box.

Rovers were level on 28 minutes when ex-Wanderer Aaron Greene ran onto a through ball and fired low under Sava.

Rovers took the lead on 40 minutes when Trevor Clarke rifled a shot to the roof of the net from a tight angle on the left.

A minute into the second half Trialist A for Wanderers was brought down inside the area. Alan Mannus easily saved Richard Purdy’s spot kick.

On 51 minutes Wanderers were awarded another penalty after Purdy was fouled inside the area. This time Joe Doyle made no mistake from the resultant spot kick.

On the hour mark Adam Hayden produced a great save to keep the sides level.

Two minutes later, Trialist D forced Mannus into tipping his shot over the bar.

Rovers changed all ten outfield players on the hour mark and replaced them with a youthful bench.

Five minutes from time Wanderers were awarded their third spot kick of the afternoon after Glen Hollywood was taken down inside the area. Philip Gannon sent Mannus the wrong way to seal victory for Wanderers.

Report Michael Duffy

Bray Wanderers: 1 Gabriel Sava; 2 Trialist A, 15 Darragh Gibbons, 5 Seán Heaney, 3 Dylan Barnett; 26 Paul Keegan, 11 Derek Daly, 17 Trialist B, 24 Richie Purdy, 10 Dylan McGlade, 9 Joe Doyle

Subs: 16 Adam Hayden (for Sava H/T), 18 Jamie Crilly (for Heany 55), 19 Luke Nolan (for Barnett H/Y), 20 Cian Walsh (for Gibbons H/T), 21 Glen Hollywood (for Trialist B H/T), 22 Dragos Mamaliga (for Purdy 55), 23 Cian Maher (for Daly H/T), 8 Philip Gannon (for Keegan H/T) , 12 Trialist C (for McGlade H/T), 25 Trialist D (for Doyle 55), 14 Jake Ellis (for Trialist A 68)

Shamrock Rovers: Alan Mannus; Alex Dunne, Sean Kavanagh, Roberto Lopes, Joey O’Brien, Ronan Finn, Aaron McEneff, Dylan Watts, Jack Byrne, Trevor Clarke , Aaron Greene

T= Trialist

Back to the topContact us