Wilson Waweru 82

First Division Playoff

Carlisle Grounds
31 Oct 2020

Bray's season ended with a single goal loss to Galway United in the first of the promotion playoff matches this weekend.

It was a less than satisfactory end to what had becone a promising season despite a poor enough start, although there had been some hints of a slight loss of form in the recent fixtures.

An eighth minute shot from Enda Curran nicely saved by Brian Maher, and Derek Daly's effort just over a quarter of an hour in, which brought a fine low save from Micheal Schlingermann, were the only chances of note in a first half the home side dominated in possession terms.

But Bray seemed to lose focus in the second period, and although several individual efforts went close, Seán McEvoy's effort with just over twenty minutes left was the closest the Seagulls came to scoring.

Galway, by contrast, appeared to grow in determination as the game went on, and it was little surprise that substitute Wilson Waweru pounced on Maher's failure to hold the ball and poked home a winner.

John Ross Wilson had a late chance to equalise, but shot straight into Schlingermann's arms.

Compiled by Mícheál Ó hUanacháin

Bray Wanderers: 25 Brian Maher; 3 Dylan Barnett, 5 Aaron Barry, 4 Killian Cantwell, 2 John Ross Wilson, 7 Ryan Graydon, 6 Paul Keegan (c), 18 Seán McEvoy, 8 Callum Thompson, 9 Joe Doyle, 11 Derek Daly
Subs: 1 Adam Hayden (gk), 10 Gary Shaw (for Doyle 84), 12 Jack Watson, 14 Tristan Noack Hofmann, 19 Darragh Lynch (for Daly 84), 26 Cian Maher, 27 Marlon MarishtaGalway United: 1 Micheal Schlingermann; 2 Jack Lynch, 6 Maurice Nugent, 5 Killian Brouder, 3 Marc Ludden; 27 Sam Warde, 7 Timmy Molloy, 8 Shane Duggan (c); 11 Shane Doherty, 14 Enda Curran, 12 Stephen Christopher
Subs: 1 Kevin Horgan (gk), 9 Mikey Place (for Molloy 56), 10 Conor Barry, 19 Francely Lomboto, 21 Christopher Horgan, 28 Wilson Waweru (for Curran 56) , 29 Vinny Faherty
Referee: Eoghan O'Shea

Back to the topContact us