Derek Daly 29

Gary Shaw 76

Darragh Lynch 88

First Division

Carlisle Grounds
04 Sep 2020

An unanswered trio of goals against Pat Devlin's side went some way to avenging the Stradbrook mudbath at the beginning of the season - almost nine months ago.

It was a testy affair, as witness the eight cautions issued by Referee Alan Patchell, the first coming as a matched pair less than ten minutes after the start, but never quite boiled over, as the visitors seemed unable to breach a sometimes hasty Bray defence.

This was despite an attacking approach on both sides, each earning a corner within five minutes of the off.

It took almost half an hour, but Derek Daly was first to net for the Seagulls, taking a touch on a long ball down the right from Gary Shaw to fire past Corey Chambers from 15m out.

And there was less than a quarter of an hour remaining when Shaw himself made the best possible use of a low cross from Callum Thompson. Finally, substitute Darragh Lynch, on the field barely three minutes, raced through to fire a clincher past the Cabinteely keeper.

When the visitors' attack found space to shoot, they also found Brian Maher in fine form, stopping, blocking or turning anything that got past his back four.

The reverse leaves Cabinteely still on top of the table - but now only on goal difference, while the same criterion actually pushes Bray down a spot, thanks to UCD's record-breaking 8-0 victory over Wexford.

Compiled by Mícheál Ó hUanacháin

Bray Wanderers: 25 Brian Maher; 2 John Ross Wilson, 14 Tristan Noack-Hofmann , 18 Sean McEvoy , 4 Killian Cantwell, 3 Dylan Barnett, 8 Callum Thompson , 17 Luka Lovic, 11 Derek Daly , 10 Gary Shaw (c) , 7 Ryan Graydon
Subs: 12 Jack Watson (for Daly 75), 19 Darragh Lynch (for Thompson 85) , 20 Don Franklin Ogbeifun (for Cantwell 91+), 24 Glen Hollywood, 26 Cian Maher (for Shaw 91+) , 29 Dean O'Shea, 30 Enda Minogue (gk)
Cabinteely: 25 Corey Chambers; 6 Alex Aspil, 2 Daniel Blackbyrne, 3 Jonathan Carlin , 5 Conor Keeley (c), 15 Eoin Massey , 7 Keith Dalton, 11 Paul Fox , 18 Christian Lotefa , 12 Shane Barnes , 19 Jack Connolly
Subs: 8 Zak O'Neill, 9 Luke Clucas (for Aspil 52), 10 Kieran Marty Waters (for Dalton 68), 21 Dylan Thornton (for Massey 82), 32 Steven Kinsella (for Connolly 68), 33 Mitchell Byrne, 45 Benjamin Clark (gk)
Referee: Alan Patchell

Back to the topContact us