Seán Heaney 23 og

Gary Shaw 43

Nika Kolanderishvili 82


25 Jan 2019

Wanderers were under pressure early on from a strong St Pats side at a windy and cold Abbotstown. James Doona fired a free kick over the Wanderers' crossbar after just five minutes. Wanderers responded with a break a minute later. Derek Daly did well on the right wing and set up Philip Gannon whose shot was saved by Clarke. Gary Shaw forced Sava into a save on eight minutes following a low snap shot from the ex-Wanderers striker.

St Pats took the lead on 23 minutes. Following a succession of corners Seán Heaney headed to his own net under pressure from Doona’s corner. On the half hour mark Dylan McGlade fired a long range shot which Clarke easily saved. A minute later, James Doona’s effort rebounded off the Wanderers post to safety. A free kick for St. Pats on 40 minutes resulted in a free header for Lee Desmond at the back post which forced a save from Sava.

Two minutes before the break Gary Shaw headed home from a Simon Madden cross on the right to double the lead for the Saints. With a quarter hour to go St Pats trialist Nika Kolanderishvili hit the outside of the Bray post. On 82 minutes, Pats wrapped up the win when Kolanderishvili looped a shot that deceived Hayden and went in off the post.

Report Michael Duffy

Bray Wanderers: 1 Gabriel Sava, 2 Paul Cleary (T), 4, Cian Walsh, 5 Seán Heaney OG, 3 Dylan Barnett, 26 Paul Keegan, 11 Derek Daly, 7 Brandon McCann (T), 8 Philip Gannon, 10 Dylan McGlade 9 Joe Doyle
Subs: 16 Adam Hayden (for Sava 58), 12 Adam Maher (T), 13 Dean Casey (T) (for McGlade 70), 14 Jake Ellis (for Doyle 65), 17 Luka Lovic (for Walsh H/T), 18 Cian Maher (for Barnett 70), 19 Kallem Simon, 20 Trialist (for Daly 58), 21 Glen Hollywood (for Keegan 65), 22 Dragos Mamaliga (for Gannon 65), 23 Jamie Crilly (for Heaney 70), 25 Conor Behan (T) (for McCann 75)
St Patricks Athletic: 26 Brendan Clarke, 27 Simon Madden, 3 Ian Bermingham, 4 Kevin Toner, 5 Lee Desmond, 6 Conor Clifford, 7 Gary Shaw , 8 Darragh Markey, 11 James Doona, 18 Dean Clarke, 20 Jamie Lennon
Subs: 1 Barry Murphy (gk), 2 David Webster (for Bermingham 41), 9 Mikey Drennan (60), 12 Ciaran Kelly (for Toner 60), 15 Rhys McCabe (60), 19 Chris Forrester (for Markey 50), 23 Cian Coleman, 10 George Poynton (for Lennon 60), 24 Nika Kolanderishvili (T) (on 60)

T= Trialist

Back to the topContact us